The Last Amazon FBA Course - [ 2020 ] Private Label Guide
4.6 (2,333 ratings)
Course Ratings are calculated from individual students’ ratings and a variety of other signals, like age of rating and reliability, to ensure that they reflect course quality fairly and accurately.
14,819 students enrolled

The Last Amazon FBA Course - [ 2020 ] Private Label Guide

** 49+ Hours! #1 Amazon FBA Course !** Million Dollar Amazon Seller Teaches Everything About How To Sell on Amazon FBA
Highest Rated
4.6 (2,338 ratings)
Course Ratings are calculated from individual students’ ratings and a variety of other signals, like age of rating and reliability, to ensure that they reflect course quality fairly and accurately.
14,836 students enrolled
Created by Brock Johnson
Last updated 5/2020
English
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Current price: $139.99 Original price: $199.99 Discount: 30% off
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This course includes
  • 54 hours on-demand video
  • 3 articles
  • Full lifetime access
  • Access on mobile and TV
  • Certificate of Completion
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What you'll learn
  • Proven Strategies to Launch, Sell and Grow Private Label Products on Amazon FBA From 10+ Amazon Millionaires
  • 🎥 350+ Videos! | Over 49+ Hours Of Content!
  • 👨‍🎓 30,000+ Students Taught Across Platforms
  • 🎯 Proven Strategies to find Profitable Product ideas in markets with low competition and high demand!
  • ✅ The Exact Criteria 7 figure sellers use to validate your product idea
  • 🏭 SOURCING - Where to find the Best Manufacturers, How to Talk to them
  • 💲 NEGOTIATING - How to get the Best Price and Best Quality Product From Manufacturers
  • 🚢 SHIPPING - How to properly Label and Ship your Products to the Amazon FBA warehouses
  • 💣 PITFALLS - Avoid common mistakes new sellers make!
  • 📝LISTING - Understand how to create the 'Perfect' Listing on from an Amazon SEO expert who has worked on over 1,000 Products
  • 🚀 PRODUCT LAUNCH - Rank your product at the top of the Amazon search for your desired keywords (And how to make sure it stays at the top!)
  • ⭐ REVIEWS - How to gather positive reviews to create trust
  • Strategies to eliminate the risk of failing your product & how to get back your initial investment in any case! Start over!
  • Create a highly converting Amazon Listing that makes people want to buy your product instead of the competitors
  • Calculate exactly how much capital you need for your product idea in order to compete in your market
  • Save money & get added security by choosing the right payment options
  • Build your own brand - Gain a competitive edge and sell at premium prices
  • Defend your Amazon Listing from Hijackers - Getting your own Trademark & Licenses
  • Understand fundamental business frameworks for long-term success
  • Scale & diversify your business. Add more products and increase revenue fast and strategically
Requirements
  • Absolutely No Experience Required. We will start from the Basics and gradually build up your knowledge to Find & launch Your First Product up to running a 6 / 7 Figure Business... Everything is in the course!
  • You will need a Computer with connection to the Internet.
  • A Positive Attitude and Desire to make your Life / Business Better
Description

** Last updated April 1st 2020 **

This course is continually kept up-to-date.

** The MOST IN DEPTH AMAZON FBA COURSE ON UDEMY (AND THE PLANET)! **

** After Successfully Teaching 30,000+ students How To Sell On Amazon on YouTube, Brock Johnson has decided to bring The Last Amazon FBA Course to Udemy! **

** Exclusive Deals! ($1000+ value)** - With this course, you will gain access to exclusive deals we negotiated with the best tools & services for your Amazon business. We’ll help you save thousands of dollars over the course of your Amazon FBA career!

Are you ready to take your career to the next level? In this course, you will learn everything you need to know about How To Sell On Amazon…. from Finding, Sourcing and Selling your First Product to Scaling to 6 & 7 Figures


This course covers all of the important topics that I have applied to Start my Business and Sell Over $8,000,000 on Amazon.

This course is taught by Experienced Amazon Seller Brock Johnson
** Brock's Experience **

  • 12 years of E-commerce experience

  • Selling on Amazon since 2014

  • Sold more than 1,000 different products

  • Has consulted for 7 and 8 figure brands

The contents of this course are all based on my work experience selling over 1,000 products on amazon

Think of this course as "The Encyclopedia of Amazon FBA”.

Course Breakdown:
There are 9 core concepts that I will discuss when you're going through this course.

Introduction: Overview of the Opportunity & a behind the scenes look at why I made this course!

Product Research:
I show Exactly how to Find the Best Products to Sell on Amazon. With over 70+ videos, I dive deep into the multiple strategies on finding the right products to sell & how to evaluate your product ideas for their chances of success!

Sourcing Your Product: Do you think saving $0.20 on your product will make you more money? You are wrong! It will most likely result in lots of trouble and failing your investment! Let me show you several ways on how to properly source your product, how to recognize the highest quality, the right price, and other sourcing strategies to be an effective seller.

Shipping: You'll learn how to create an efficient shipping plan from A to Z, as well as important information involving how to handle your products

Listing Your Product: You have a good product? That’s not enough. In this section, you'll discover the best way to create a highly converting product listings, how to find the best keyword for your products, and the mindset behind winning products.

Launching Your Product: I will teach how to run effective PPC (paid advertising) for your products, how to get your first reviews, as well as go over important tactics vital to your business. All without using questionable techniques often taught by other courses!

Brand: In this section, you'll learn the best way to protect your brand as a seller, and how to have long-term success in your niche. (Advanced)

Payments and Protection: In this section, you'll learn how to save on currency transfer rates & directly increase your profits, how to protect yourself and your business, and tax saving methods.

Defense and Maintenance: Learn the various scenarios that may happen to you as a seller, how to remove hijackers legitimately, and how to approach unavoidable situations.


In this course, I am not just teaching you the step by step guide how to succeed on Amazon, but I also teach fundamental frameworks, which are applicable across most e-commerce businesses. This enables you to think for yourself & not just follow a guide, which sets you up for success in the long term!


This course is updated frequently & will take into account any major changes on Amazon. You will have access to these updates for free after purchasing the course


However, nobody knows everything! That’s why I am interviewing multiple experts from different fields in this course, providing you with incredibly valuable insights!

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Customer Testimonials:

★★★★★" Hey Brock - All because of you, I was able to successfully launch a product and now I make 10 sales per day. You allowed me to invest in my business by giving me all the tools for success at an affordable rate!"

★★★★★“Hey Brock, I wanted to personally thank you for the course you have gifted to the world. I’ve been moving through my journey of succeeding with FBA only to pass through so many of the “mastermind” programs convincing myself that I would teach myself. Tonight as I was looking for Chinese agent services I came across your name on helium10 and searched you up leading to the course you created. Don’t have enough words to thank you for offering me this guidance without making a $1000 commitment to join a group! With hard work and commitment, a new future awaits!”

★★★★★“Hey Brock, I finally launched my FBA product and have had great success . I couldn’t have done it without your course. Thank you!❤️”

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Why is it called The Last Amazon Course?

I created this course with the intention of making it virtually accessible to anyone wanting to learn how to sell on Amazon.

Students of this course will learn literally EVERYTHING there is to know about How To Sell On Amazon and should never have to take another Amazon course again. Hence "The Last Amazon Course".

Yes, that is a bold statement and I'm THAT confident in your results.

If you have the confidence, tenacity, and risk tolerance to jump into selling your own products, there is no doubt you will achieve the goals you set for yourself.


Learning the most important topics used by the top Amazon Sellers in the world.

**This course is not a part of the Amazon website or Amazon Inc. Additionally, This course is NOT endorsed by Amazon in any way. Amazon is a trademark of Amazon Inc.

Who this course is for:
  • Beginners - You Want to Learn About Amazon FBA and see if its the right business model for you. We start from having no knowledge about the business model all the way to successfully scaling your business. No Steps left out.
  • Intermediate - You know the Amazon fundamentals, haven't sold yet or tried but didn't see good results. This course will show how to sell on Amazon properly.
  • Advanced - You want to take your business to the Next Level and Increase Profits Conversions and Traffic.
Course content
Expand all 369 lectures 53:49:02
+ Amazon FBA Overview - What To Expect In This Course
20 lectures 04:54:28
Course Expectations - How To Use The Course
08:04

Key Takeaways:

  • This topic hits close to home as I failed with my first 7 products, but I never gave up!

  • Success isn't instant.

  • Every bit of the growing process is required for a seed to grow. The same is true about e-commerce or selling on Amazon.

  • You have to work hard by doing tons of research, taking action, and most importantly, avoiding these mistakes!

Action Steps:

  1. There are 560 million products on Amazon, find 1 or 2 products and add value.

  2. Learn from my story, get motivated by my success, and become the next success story.

  3. TAKE ACTION!

The #1 Reason Why You Will Fail (Statistically Speaking)
11:02

Key Takeaways:

  • Brock talks about his 7 failed products to help future sellers avoid the same mistakes.

  • Reasons why the products failed:

    • Low Sales

    • Differentiation

    • Competing against direct Chinese sellers

    • Ranking

    • Bad models

    • Research on distribution of sales

    • Quality and product function

Action Steps:

    1. Don’t mind the format, this was a YouTube video that we thought all members should see :)

    2. DO NOT create a new product niche! People have to be familiar with your product.

    3. Use Viral Launch for more accurate data!

    4. Make sure you have a great product that has a competitive edge so you can command a higher price.

    5. Never give up! Keep going!

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Preview 17:11

Key Takeaways:

  • One common misconception with this business model is that Amazon sellers have one home run product that makes them millions... When in reality, they have many home runs and base hit products.

  • In my case for the solar eclipse, I listed 100 different products and not all of them were home runs.

  • Now, my story is pretty extraordinary but as you dive into product research, you'll start to find these easy wins... more on this later.

Acton Steps:

  • Begin watching the product research section and familiarize yourself with the different product opportunities on Amazon.

  • If you'd like to play along at home, consider signing up for Viral Launch so you can use their chrome extension.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Preview 03:22

Key Takeaways:

  • I explain why Amazon FBA is the best opportunity to start an e-commerce business and in general the best investment of your time and money for years to come.

  • While Google is the search engine for information, Amazon is the search engine for products. Over 46.7% of all product searches online now start on Amazon.

  • E-commerce is a megatrend and the biggest revolution in commerce history. Amazon is well suited and positioned to dominate this trend for decades to come.

  • Amazon is by far the best and most lucrative platform to leverage, in order to start a business. Amazon FBA provides you the customers, infrastructure, and logistics at a scale unrivaled by any other company or marketplace.

  • The Amazon FBA opportunity is the best investment opportunity in the world as if today.No other industry is producing more millionaires and successful business today. It is simply the fastest place to go from an idea to profit.

Action Steps:

  1. Take note & understand this Amazon opportunity.

  2. Use this information & take ACTION!

  3. Utilize the idea graphic and resources below.

Preview 18:05

Key Takeaways:

  • E-commerce is a megatrend and will continue to be for years to come. More than half of all sales on Amazon are by 3rd party sellers just like you.

  • Private labeling is essentially creating your own brand with a long-term sustainable business mindset.

  • Majority of courses on Amazon FBA are NOT teaching the business model correctly or with a long-term focus.

  • Your goal on Amazon is to look a given market and find the ‘in-between’ spaces where demand is not being met. Fill that demand with a solution in the form of a product.

  • Use product research tools to gather the correct data from Amazon.

Action Steps:

  1. Get an Idea.

  2. Seach Alibaba (search engine for factories) for manufacturers.

  3. Use a freight forwarder to ship to Amazon

  4. Create a product listing

  5. Use Amazon’s marketing (PPC)

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Preview 15:46

Key Takeaways:

  • This section is dedicated to helping you learn how you can figure out ‘what is a good product opportunity’?

  • Product research is the MOST important determinant of success or failure when selling on Amazon. How you do product research will make or break any business selling on Amazon.

  • There are ways to determine if a product is a ‘good product opportunity’ on Amazon.

  • Understand and use the model outlined in this section to find your own profitable products.

Action Steps:

  1. Understand the product research model.

  2. Use it to find successful opportunities.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Preview 01:54

Key Takeaways:

  • Learning what to look for when trying to find product opportunities is important.

  • You need to look for markets where there is volume. Look at the sales level. How much are they doing per month?

  • You can’t go to Amazon and Invent products, you have to find what people are already searching for.

  • Remember Amazon is a search engine for products. Identify the words consumers are using to look for products.

  • Analysis framework: Utility or Self Expression. The different factors in the analysis framework will determine if products fail or succeed.

  • For beginners, self-expression will be an easier route to success relative to the utility route.

Action Steps

  1. Understand the analysis framework.

  2. Make your decisions with those factors in mind.

  3. Differentiate from your competition.

How to Find a Product That Sells - Framework
11:20

Since the outbreak, the novel Coronavirus has affected supply chains from China and has disrupted businesses in many countries. Tobias shares the team's thought process to answer some questions you may have as beginners or new sellers.

Our goal is to raise your awareness and provide you with some pointers on how to navigate through the course given the current situation.

Key Takeaways:

  • There is now a lot of potential to make money and get started with a small amount of capital.

  • Creating your Private Label product takes time. This could be a great opportunity to spend more time and effort on your product to make it great..

Acton Steps:

  • If you're doing product research at the moment, find an opportunity that specifically addresses the Coronavirus situation. Example: swimming goggles for eye protection.

  • Think ahead and try to identify what customers may potentially need in the future or in the event of isolation/quarantine.

  • You don't necessarily need to source from China just because they offer the lowest prices. Consider local sources as well.

  • Watch the rest of the videos from the main Coronavirus Section to get more insight and learn about measures you can take to minimize risk.

How To Use This Course During The Coronavirus Outbreak
05:01
80% of Learning Occurs When You Take Action
00:58

Key Takeaways:

  • This section is focused on showing you how to find and navigate the idea generation process on Amazon

  • When generating ideas, you can think up ideas from the top of your head or use tools like Vira Launch to help you come up with product ideas.

  • Product research tools like Viral Launch, are 1 of the top 3 requirements for a successful Amazon business; A good product, differentiation/value-added, correct DATA.

  • For beginners, focus on the main factors and columns highlighted in the video when doing your research.

  • Instead of coming up with ideas and hoping it meets the critter for success, by using Viral Launch, you can input your own criteria and get a list of products that meet the standard directly from Amazon.

  • While in the idea generating stage, expand your mind, creativity, and be open-minded.

  • This course is $1 because I rather YOU have money to invest in tools and your business so you can be successful.

Action Steps:

  1. Think of ideas.

  2. Get Viral Launch and download the chrome extension.

  3. Use Product Discovery and set your criterias

  4. Use keyword research to find markets

  5. Take ACTION & find 5 ideas before you watch the next video.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Preview 33:25
HELIUM 10 - COVID-19 LIMITED TIME OFFER - 80% OFF
00:29

Key Takeaways:

  • In this section, we take your 5 product ideas and go through how to validate your ideas using a framework.

  • When validating ideas, use the scientific method. Gather as many ideas as possible, aim to destroy it through analysis, do it again. If it withstands the process it's potentially a good opportunity.

  • A framework for evaluting ideas: Gather ideas → do you have the resources? → How can you differentiate & add value? → Ability to source the product.

  • Profitability is the most important bottom line criteria. Can you make money selling this product?

  • For beginners, all product ideas should be put through this framwork in order to maximize your success. Not all ideas will be good but it only takes one idea to succeed.

  • Post below and tell us why your idea worked or why it did not work with specific details. Let's build a collaborative community, where we can help each other shorten the learning curve on this journey to success.

Action Steps:

  1. Run your idea through the framework

  2. Take into account the other factors mentioned

  3. Repeat until you discover a good opportunity.

  4. Comment below why your idea did or did not work.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Validate Your Ideas
38:24

Key Takeaways:

  • This section covers the entire process of sourcing your products from Alibaba - ‘the search engine for suppliers

  • Evaluate all the factors mentioned in the video carefully so you can source the best products.

  • Research and determine if your supplier is a factory or a trading company.

  • When sourcing your product, keep in mind it is not all about the lowest price, you should aim to produce the highest quality product possible.

  • Make sure you follow the strategy outlined in this section to find the most qualified suppliers.

Action Steps:

  1. Go to Alibaba

  2. Search your product (more broadly than specific)

  3. Evaluate products

  4. Evaluate suppliers

  5. Order samples

  6. Choose supplier

  7. Pay supplier

  8. Get your products to Amazon.

Preview 24:00
Coronavirus - Can I Source From China Right Now?
02:44

Key Takeaways:

  • Having a good-optimized listing and a good quality product are the two main requirements for success on Amazon.

  • There are two steps to building a successful Amazon listing: making the machine (algorithm) & people (customers) happy.

  • You can make the algorithm happy by using the highest volume keywords and converting for sale. The more sales you make the higher you will be ranked.

  • You make people happy by providing them value through a quality product and quality images. Amazon is a visual shopping experience and professional images are a necessity.

  • Take note of the role the title, bullet points, descriptions, and images play in creating a great product listing.

  • You must be able to write for both the machine and the customers where appropriate.

  • Be cognizant of the buying process on Amazon so you can better serve your customers.

Action Steps:

  1. Understand the different components of a listing

  2. Research the highest volume keywords

  3. Get quality images

  4. Write a great copy

Making Amazon and Customers Happy
22:01

Key Takeaways:

  • Launching your product is the most exciting part of the process, where you get to watch all your hard work come together and pay off.

  • Your main goal when launching a product is to get ranking for your keywords. Amazon gives you a favorable 14-30 days as a grace period.

  • When setting your price, set the highest price because by differentiating and having a quality product you get to charge a premium price.

  • Learn how Amazon ads work and the different options for PPC (Pay Per Click) strategies.

  • Keep in mind, it is okay to not make money or lose a little upfront, once you rank, Amazon will provide you traffic - sales and profits.

  • Use the data from ads to key in on the most relevant and converting keywords.

Action Steps:

  1. Optimize your listing

  2. Set your price

  3. Launch your product

  4. Run ads and get data

  5. Optimize and repeat

Launching Your Product Successfully on Amazon
23:35
$100 to $3,000,000 in 3 years - EVERY STEP I DID
35:38

Key Takeaways:

  • I share my experiences on how I learned about other ways of making money before starting my private label.

  • The general, long term idea is to keep learning the skill of making money, and keep finding other opportunities. These are skills that you will have for the rest of your life.

  • A lot of people think that having a job is the only way to make money. That's not entirely true. But even if you do have a job, there are other ways to make extra money too.

  • Gig economies (like Uber or Instacart) and offering services (on Craigslist or Fiverr) are great and easy ways to earn money.

  • The service you provide doesn't have to be hard, you can be creative and strategic with your methods. Analyze supply and demand.

  • Using this strategy enables you to have multiple streams of income. One of these streams could take off and provide you with a full time income, or it could be the best way to earn money on the side to invest in your business.

  • Even if you don't have a starting capital, you can take what you learned from this course and get paid by providing services that can help other people optimize their Amazon business.

  • You are not limited by your resources, you are only limited by your resourcefulness.

Action Steps:

  1. Take a leap of faith!

  2. Keep learning new skills.

  3. Find new opportunities for those skills.

  4. You can offer services as a way to earn more money. Be creative and strategic.

  5. If you don't have the money to invest in your business yet, consider this strategy to help you get started.

  6. Take action and keep testing. Opportunities are out there.

  7. Don't give up!

Other Ways To Make Money
11:05
+ Coronavirus and Your Business
4 lectures 32:04

In the next few videos, Tobias shares the team's outlook on the Coronavirus situation.

Our goal for this section is to give you a better understanding of the circumstances so you can manage your risks, prepare yourself or your business, and maybe even generate profit out of what's happening!

Key Takeaways:

  • We still do not have 100% of information about the full capabilities of COVID-19.

  • Even in a state of emergency, certain supply chains will still operate (even in China). People will continue to need food and supplies to survive.

  • People who are afraid to step out of their homes will turn to online shopping for their needs.

Action Steps:

  • It is important NOT to panic and to NOT believe everything you read or watch.

  • Use your judgement when looking at information about the rising number of infected individuals. Consider the number of those who recovered as well.

  • Watch the next videos where Tobias talks about how the current situation will affect your business/supply chain, how you can navigate through this time, what you can potentially do, and how you can profit from it.

Coronavirus In Perspective
13:04

Key Takeaways:

  • All business sectors Have been affected by the Coronavirus situation. Ecommerce businesses are, in fact, the lucky ones as more and more people resort to buying online.

  • This can also mean an increase in demand for high-need products in Amazon, such as face masks and hand sanitizers. Sometimes, high-need and low-need products are not easily obvious to us. Example: swimming goggles

  • The U.S. Government has made loans available at fixed interest rates. This can be a good option to keep your business running if you are running into cash flow issues.

  • When inventory is low and demand is high, increasing prices is a good idea.

Acton Steps:

  • If you are running into cash flow issues now or if your business needs to be closed, make a list of your monthly payments and determine how long you can go with your business being closed. Then, identify which costs can be reduced. Example: Negotiating rates with your employees/freelancers and suppliers

  • IConsider work-from-home options, if possible. Some of your employees may also become sick in the process. Weigh the pros of cons of keeping them on your payroll at this time. Example: You may incur costs but you get their loyalty in return.

  • Think about raising your prices. This move is justified since there could be an increase in your sourcing and production processes during this period. Monitor your competitors to get more insight.

  • A lot of businesses can go belly up at this time. Analyzing your current and future costs while making smart decisions are crucial in order for your business to survive, and hopefully thrive.

Brace for impact - Business Preparation
06:56
All About Sourcing: Is China Still An Option?
08:31

Key Takeaways:

  • Although the Coronovirus situation is now providing a lot of opportunities to make money, you should NEVER use it for personal gain. Do not sell hand sanitizers or face masks at exorbitant prices. WE DO NOT ENCOURAGE THIS.

  • Is online entrepreneurs, we have this unique ability to help and provide what consumers need. We can charge a fair premium without exploiting anyone.

  • BE FAIR and HUMANE.

Acton Steps:

  • "Repurposing" is in. Brainstorm on how customers can alternatively use your product in the context of the current Coronavirus situation. Example: swimming goggles for eye protection, gardening spray bottles for surface cleaning at home, etc.

  • People might not realize that they need your products in certain ways yet, use positivity and creativity in your marketing. Do NOT use fear.

Ways To Profit From Coronavirus with Your Existing Business
03:33
+ Product Research Overview
6 lectures 32:12

Key Takeaways:

  • Product Research is the MOST important step of Amazon FBA.

  • You are only one successful product away from changing your life!

  • Product Research IS NOT a linear journey, there will be ups and downs.

  • This section will teach you the tools & strategies to find and validate successful Products.

Action Steps:

  1. Consider purchasing Viral Launch or Helium 10. The right Product Research tools will help you find ideas and lucrative opportunities. 

  2. Step one of product research is GATHERING potential ideas.

  3. The second step is to VALIDATE your idea.

  4. Once validated, you MUST TAKE ACTION! out of 10  people will not order their first product. Join the 30% who TAKE ACTION & realize their dreams. 

  5. If you have ANY questions or concerns, please leave a comment. This course is made with you in mind. 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Product Research Overview
07:37

Key Takeaways:

  • You will learn what makes a great product idea by analyzing a market

  • We will be going over which kinds of criteria you should avoid and which you should pursue.

  • There are no guarantees in the business, but the more winning criteria you have on your side, the more likely you will succeed.

How To Navigate The Product Research Section
01:45

Key Takeaways:

  • 55% of online shoppers start at Amazon, with 74% converting. Among non-prime members it is still 13% conversion rate, while online retailers have only a 3.32% conversion rate.

  • Amazon ranks products based on sales.

  • Keyword volume shows you what keywords are actually being searched.

  • I use Helium 10 for keywords, while Viral-Launch is used more for product discovery.

  • Reviews have no impact on ranking.

Action Steps:

  • Download Viral-Launch if you're searching for products

  • Download Helium 10 when you're searching for keywords

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Amazon Definitions & Fundamentals
06:59
Common FBA Terms
00:10

Key Takeaways:

  • Understand why people are misguided when going into markets

  • Understand how to go about product research

Action Steps:

  • Determine if there is a void to fill in numerous markets

  • Make a list of those products

How Most People Do Product Research and Why They Are Misguided
07:45

Key Takeaways: 

  • My methodology establishes a different perspective and approach. It asks "how can I provide TRUE VALUE to customers?"

  • My method to success is not the only on that works. I have 8 figure sellers who approach product research differently. 

  • Regardless of the methodology, all successful sellers know this: You need quality products!

Action Steps:

  1. Find the difference in Supply & Demand

  2. Find a way to ADD VALUE to underserved markets with a Premium product. 

  3. Decide if you want to build a brand or make short-term money. 

The Brock Johnson Methodology
07:56
+ Winning Criteria - Product Research
16 lectures 03:04:03

Key Takeaways:

  • In the next few videos, I'll be going over techniques of how to do proper product research.

  • Essentially there are techniques for finding good products and I'll be continually breaking them down using these strategies.

  • Also, there are numerous red flags to watch out for which we will go over throughout this entire section.

  • Eventually you'll find products that make a lot of sense to go after based on my criteria where you'll be able to pull the trigger on that product.

Product Research Road map
01:30

Key Takeaways:

  • You want to be able to fulfill customer needs.

  • There are general needs like time, utility, self-expression, and price.

  • The product must be able to differentiate itself from other products or else you will just be competing on price.

  • There are some products customers will search for that fulfill some utility like functionality: how are the products used? Does it improve the customer experience? How reliable or durable is the product? Will it perform as well as the customer wants? How compatible is it? Obviously, some utilities will be met and others won't, but you have to break it down.

  • Go into markets where there is a multitude of needs.

Action Steps:

  • Find markets where you can provide the most value to a customer  

  • Continue with the treasure hunt

Consumer Needs
10:47

Key Takeaways: 

  • This is the most important criteria for product research. 

  • There are many different ways to add value and differentiate.

    • Color, design, marketing, product mold, quality, bundling.

  • If you provide something different to the market and personalize for your customers, reviews don't matter as much.

Action Steps:

  1. Analyze your market and determine what type of differentiation you'll need in order to add value. 

  2. Read through negative reviews to see what market is being undeserved. 

  3. Invent & innovate within your market by using feedback from reviews and research tools. 

  4. Personalize your product for your target market. 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

How Can I Add Value and Differentiate?
15:35

Key Takeaways:

  • If you can find a market with low innovation, you will have many opportunities for differentiation.

  • Adding VALUE is going to give a competitive advantage over your competition.

Action Steps:

  1. Invent within search parameters for a given product. This will allow you to stand out within a market.

  2. Contact manufacturers and change around the product. Add value and differentiate yourself.

  3. Test your new product.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Example of Successful VALUE Added: Products that are DIFFERENT
06:31

Key Takeaways:

  • The most important Criteria to look for in Product Research is Keywords.

  • Keywords - are words that describe a specific product.

  • Keywords are what help customers find relevant products on Amazon.

Action Steps:

  1. When doing product research, you want to look for the products main keywords

  2. Reverse search a product with Cerebro to find a products main keywords. 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Keywords
16:54

Key Takeaways: 

  • Premium products allow you to charge premium prices

  • I was able to generate 300-500 sales per day while charging a premium price. More importantly, you will make your customers happy and Amazon will love you for it!

  • There are many benefits to having a premium brand. From higher perceived value, higher quality reviews and importantly higher margins.

Action Steps:

  1. Build a PREMIUM product or brand. 

  2. Provide real VALUE and solve customer problems.

  3. Enjoy your success on Amazon! 

Why You Should be a Premium Product
05:23

Key Takeaways: 

  • Going into an under-served market will increase your odds of success on Amazon. Go into markets where there is more demand than supply.

  • With Amazon FBA, you can go where big retailers won't. Their barriers could be your competitive advantage.

  • Some examples are providing bundles, taboo products found at Spencer's, or going into a specific niche.

  • Some cultures are under-served because products they need don't exist.

  • You can find opportunities in selling business to business products or to governments because they need to buy large volumes of materials and don't have time to leave reviews.

  • Seasonal products are also great because there's little innovation and it's historically harder to track.

  • New markets are a good place to go into because some trends last, but beware of fads.

Action Steps:

  1. Think outside the box and find under-served markets. One that might also fit your product. 

  2. Cater to those niches and gain a competitive advantage.

  3. Find where there is more demand than supply.  

Best Markets to Go Into: Under-Served
07:09

Key Takeaways: 

  • Biting off more than you can chew is dangerous on Amazon. 

  • Finding markets and products that allow you to be competitive is crucial for the health of your business. 

  • Take into account the cash flow of each market. 

Action Steps:

  1. Determine how much capital you'll need to launch a product. You do this based on the number of sales for a product on the first page.

  2. Ask yourself, do I have resources and skill to compete on this first page? 

  3. Would you buy your product over the competition? why?

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Do I Have The Resources To Compete?
14:03

Key Takeaways: 

  • This is one of the most important factors in deciding which markets to go into and where it is possible to compete

  • A barrier to entry is anything that can make it difficult to enter a market.

  • Barriers to entry in some cases can also be a competitive advantage. 

  • The more barriers you can bypass, the less competition for you. 

Action Steps:

  1. Find the barriers to entry in your niche.

  2. Take into account all the barriers you need to get over.

  3. If you want to compete in competitive markets, you need a competitive advantage. 

Barriers to Entry
10:06

Key Takeaways: 

  • A competitive advantage is anything that gives you a leg-up on your competition within a market.

  • There is always room for the rich.  

Action Steps:

  • Add a better feature to a product.

  • Add value to a product with a bundle or information.

  • Protect your business with a competitive advantage.

Competitive Advantage
05:50

Key Takeaways: 

  • Predict and plan for the future by analyzing your market.

  • What is the long-term value of the market you are entering?

Action Steps:

  1. Identify why you are entering the market; is it a brand opportunity or an arbitrage opportunity? 

  2. Identify what type of market it is: is it a megatrend, seasonal, or new? 

  3. Get to know your competitors: what kind of player are they? 

  4. Structure a game theory and plan for the possible scenarios.

Game Theory: Supply and Demand
10:22

Key Takeaways: 

  • There are two parts of expected value.

  • Planning for limiting your downside.

  • Maximizing your upside. 

Action Steps:

  1. Limit your downside by making your product have utility in other areas besides Amazon. 

  2. Map out potential scenarios of what might happen - have a backup plan. 

  3. If you're a new seller, limit your risk more by going with a higher probability of success. 

  4. Choose something that is less competitive not many sellers would enter. You can earn experience and limit your exposure. 

Guarantee Success with Expected Value
23:32

Key Takeaways: 

  • Size of your products can affect your success with shipping and lead times. 

  • The faster your lead time, the faster your feedback loop. 

Action Steps:

  1. If you are a beginner, try to find a smaller product that you can air-ship. 

  2. Take action and learn. 

  3. Reorder and repeat. 

Shipping & Lead Times
04:44

Key Takeaways:

  • ROI and lead time are your most important factors for scaling your business

  • ROI multiplies your money because you want to reinvest it into your business

  • Lead time will decrease the time to multiply your money 

  • Having a higher ROI will solve cash flow issues

  • If you buy more inventory to decrease the amount of cash per unit, you lose the opportunity cost of reinvesting into a better product.

Action Steps:

  • When searching for a supplier, make sure to negotiate the lowest possible lead time

Lead Time and ROI as the Solution for Any Cashflow Issue
26:21

Key Takeaways: 

  • Building a brand can help you retain long-term value and brand loyalty with your customers. 

  • Most customers will buy one product and never buy again. It's important to sell more than one product and build your launch list. 

Action Steps:

  1. Get to know your market.

  2. Who is your customer?

  3. What is the long-term value of a customer? 

  4. Build a relationship with your customer. 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Brand & Customer LTV
12:07

Key Takeaways:

  • The most valuable asset of an Amazon listing is the 'real estate' of your keywords.

  • It is important to grab digital 'real estate' NOW while Amazon is still in its Golden Era.

  • These digital spaces or 'real estate' will only rise in value, as the digital space becomes more saturated. "If there is money in a market, there is land to grab."

Action Steps:

  1. Look at the search results of an Amazon sales page and gauge how much 'real estate' is being taken up in the respective nitch. See my Anker's power bank example for reference.

  2. Examine what part of the niche big amazon sellers are dominating.

  3. Find a sub-niche away from the big competition.

Think of Amazon Like Real Estate
13:09
+ Finding Product Ideas - Product Research
4 lectures 23:34

Key Takeaways:

  • Each product could be part of multiple markets.

  • When you find a product, look through all the keywords that product ranks for. Are they good markets to go into?

  • Going to trade shows or in-person events and building a relationship with suppliers can be your competitive advantage

Action Steps:

  • Start collecting all your ideas because we will break it down in other product research videos by validating it and seeing what are the pitfalls

Overview of Different Types of Methods of Product Research
03:27

Key Takeaways:

  • Knowing what NOT to do is at times just as important as knowing what to do.

  • Most common reasons sellers fail:

    • giving up

    • no differentiating

    • going into competitive markets

    • going for trend products

    • making products no one wants

    • bad listings

  • Here is how to never fail:

    • have a good product

    • solve an unsolved need

    • go into non-competitive markets

  • I've seen thousands of sellers and looked at why they fail or succeed. Watch and TAKE ACTION! on the principles, I teach you in this course.

Action Steps:

  1. Understand the reasons why most sellers fail

  2. Watch this course to learn how to succeed

  3. TAKE ACTION!

Most Common Reasons Sellers Fail
08:36

Key Takeaways:

  • Reading reviews of competitors products is a good signal of an unsatisfied need in the market

  • DIY projects can be great ideas for products

  • If you know there is a product that hasn't been invented yet that can fill a need, that is also a good indicator.

Action Steps:

  • Look out for negative reviews of products

  • Search DIY projects that fill some type of demand

Finding Markets with Unsatisfied Needs
02:56

Key Takeaways:

  • How you can download and analyze negative reviews.

  • Helium 10’s chrome extension is great for this method.

  • This method will allow you to find rooms for improvement with products and markets.

Action Steps:

  1. Find a product on Amazon.

  2. Use the Helium 10 Chrome extension to download Reviews.

  3. Export reviews to Excel and Sort

  4. Use the Frankenstein tool in Helium 10 to sort by criteria

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

What Do People Want? Evaluating Reviews in Bulk
08:35
+ Finding Product Ideas - Keyword & Product Theory - Product Research
16 lectures 03:40:45

Key Takeaways:

  • One unique filter is the ability to exclude keywords from the title

  • You can view keyword volume using either the Cerebro or Magnet tool in Helium 10

  • Helium 10 is unique because you can view all the keywords that product ranks for and the position it's ranked for

  • You can also view where that product is advertised on using the "Sponsored Results" filter

  • Helium 10 is convenient because of all the keyword data they give

Action Steps:

  • Research your products and which keywords those product ranks for

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Helium 10 Tour
03:30

Key Takeaways:

  • Understanding the basics of each tool within Viral Launch and how I use it

  • Overview of Product Discovery, Market Intelligence, and Keyword Research tools.

  • There are four main categories in the Product Discovery Section in VL which I'll discuss: Product, Keyword, Brand, & Category.

Action Steps:

  • Get Viral-Launch and start looking over their tools

  • If you have any products in mind, start gathering data

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Viral Launch Tour
02:54

Key Takeaways:

  • Black Box is Helium 10's product research tool. Black Box is unique because it allows you to filter by keywords in a product title. 

  • Cerebro allows you to reverse ASIN search. This allows you to see which keywords listings are optimized for. 

  • Magnet is a keyword research tool that allows you to see similar keywords within a nitch. 

Action Steps:

  1. Navigate to Black Box, pick your criteria and give it some keywords. 

  2. Sort monthly revenue by highest to lowest - this allows you to see high revenue listings with your keywords. 

  3. Find a promising product and insert its ASIN into Cerebro to do a reverse search. 

  4. Find a high volume keyword and check if other Amazon listings are optimized for it. 

  5. Take your high volume keyword and put it into Magnet to discover other products in the nitch. 

  6. Check the monthly sales for demand. 

  7. Find room for innovation and differentiation.  

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

How To Dig Into Niches with Black Box Cerebro and Magnet
48:55

Key Takeaways:

  • This Helium 10 research method gives you full flexibility when choosing keywords and niche.

  • Black Box is Helium 10's product research tool. Black Box is unique because it allows you to filter by keywords in a product title. 

  • Cerebro allows you to reverse ASIN search. This allows you to see which keywords listings are optimized for. 

  • Magnet is a keyword research tool that allows you to see similar keywords within a nitch. 

Action Steps:

  1. Navigate to Black Box, pick your criteria and give it some keywords. 

  2. Sort monthly revenue by highest to lowest - this allows you to see high revenue listings with your keywords. 

  3. Find a promising product and insert its ASIN into Cerebro to do a reverse search. 

  4. Find a high volume keyword and check if other Amazon listings are optimized for it. 

  5. Take your high volume keyword and put it into Magnet to discover other products in the nitch. 

  6. Check the monthly sales for demand. 

  7. Find room for innovation and differentiation.  

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Helium 10 Product Research Method Overview
18:58

Key Takeaways:

  • Choosing the wrong keywords is the #1 biggest mistake sellers on Amazon make.

  • Fake Keywords can trick you, especially if you are new.

  • Tools like Viral Launch and JungleScout will enormously help you in choosing the right keywords.

  • The right keywords will Maximize your sales without faking anything.

Action Steps:

  1. Go to Helium or Viral Launch

  2. Do a reverse ASIN search on the product.

  3. Find out what Keyword it is ranking the highest for.

  4. Choose Keywords making all the sales.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Biggest Mistakes When Choosing Keywords
04:21

Key Takeaways:

  • In this video, I want to get across the point of exactly how important Cerebro really is.

  • When you find products, sometimes they don’t look viable, but with a little bit of research, you will find hidden opportunities.

  • Today I show you the tools that will help you in identifying the keywords and markets that will benefit you the most.

Action Steps:

  1. Find a product on Amazon.

  2. Use Cerebro and reverse search ASIN.

  3. Find opportunities and take ACTION!

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

How To Use REVERSE ASINs To Find the True Keywords of a Product
14:51

Key Takeaways:

  • The product discovery tool is my favorite thing to use when doing product research.

  • Market intelligence and product discovery allow you to filter many different things with ease.

  • Product discovery is for coming up with ideas while Market Intelligence is real-time estimator of the market.  

Action Steps:

  1. Learn from the CEO behind the tools.

  2. Take action and use the tools!

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

[VL Interview] Product Discovery + Market Intelligence
12:24

Key Takeaways: 

  • With this methodology, we are looking at keyword to product offering ratio

  • You will be able to find underserved markets.  

  • A lot of searches are happening but there aren't a lot of products optimized for those keywords.

Action Steps:

  1. Type descriptive words into Helium 10's Magnet tool to gather ideas

  2. Enter exact search volume - I usually search for 500 exact searches.

  3. Enter in a Magnet IQ Score - I usually use an IQ score of 1000.

  4. SEARCH. 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

What Product Research is Really Like!
27:37

80% of Learning Occurs When You Take Action

It'd be really beneficial if you bought Viral Launch for these next few videos so you can follow along at home.

If you can't afford it there is still value to be derived from these videos and you can get helium 10 for free for 7 days.

Product research tools aren't necessary, but they help you generate ideas/opportunities faster. 

My #1 goal when learning skills is to get feedback as fast as possible. These tools give you immediate feedback.


Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Take Action!
01:05

Key Takeaways:

  • Try searching for products with little to no reviews.

  • Cross-reference sales volume using both Helium 10 and Viral Launch

  • Understand my methodology for searching for products using Helium 10's "Black Box" tool

Action Steps:

  • Find products with low reviews and in markets where you know you can compete

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Product Search Helium 10 - Black Box
11:30

Key Takeaways:

  • My input on what markets to find products in using Viral-Launch categories

  • People spend a lot of time on their hobbies

  • Any market where you can provide value like "Tools & Home Improvement"

  • Avoid fads and new trends because it's harder to compete

Action Steps:

  • Look through categories you want to do business in

  • Avoid fads and new trends when finding products

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Product Search Viral Launch - Product Discovery
17:16

Key Takeaways:

  • Brock and Bradley talk about Black Box and Keywords using the Brock Johnson Methodology.

  • Review Count - average number of reviews for the top products.

  • Putting a 2-word count is advisable since 2-word phrases tend to have more buyer intent.

  • Use X-Ray to view sales performance and number of reviews.

  • Use Cerebro to Reverse ASIN a listing.

  • Use the Profitability Calculator to calculate ROI.

Action Steps:

  1. Sit down and search around. There is a lot to learn from using Black Box and Keywords.

  2. Take advantage of 7-Day Free Trial exclusive to you!

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Keyword Search Helium 10 - Black Box - Feat. Bradley From Helium 10
14:16

Key Takeaways:

  • My method on how to use one of the most powerful tools within Viral-Launch

  • After finding the product in Helium 10, I recommend using VL to cross-reference those products with your ideal criteria.

  • Consider business to business sales

Action Steps:

  • Find products with less than 2% review rate

  • Input less than a thousand searches in your search methods

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Keyword Search Viral Launch - Product Discovery
21:30

Key Takeaways:

  • This is the most powerful way I know to find potential opportunities.

  • I show you how to find markets that are easy to get into.

  • You can spy on sellers who are profiting without Optimization.

Action Steps:

  1. Use Helium 10 and pick the criteria in the video.

  2. Search for products that meet the criteria.

  3. Pick enticing products and validate sales using Viral Launch or Helium 10.

  4. Search Seller storefront for other products.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Looking for Sellers You Can Crush as a Beginner
08:08

Key Takeaways:

  • Use unique filters from Helium 10 and Viral Launch 

  • I'm a big fan of seasonal items and will use the "Sales Pattern" filter in VL to find those types of products

  • Identify your budget and where you can add value

Action Steps:

  • Use the unique filters from Helium 10 and Viral Launch

  • Add a comment if you find a way to use these features

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Using Advanced Filters in Helium 10 and Viral Launch
08:09

Key Takeaways:

  • The seasonal market is one of the best opportunities, but it's not easy

  • When doing seasonal products, you have to plan ahead of time

  • There is less competition, easier to rank, less innovation, and higher profit margins

Action Steps:

  • Consider doing seasonal products if this is a market you want to enter

  • Let me know in the comments section if you want more videos on seasonal

The Opportunity & Danger of Seasonality
05:21
+ Finding Product Ideas - Reverse Engineering - Product Research
5 lectures 46:51

Key Takeaways: 

  • This is a basic product research strategy that helps you see their best selling products.

  • I show you how to follow already successful sellers to replicate in your own business strategies and path.

Action Steps:

  1. Click the brand names on the seller - "sold by ____."

  2. Click their products tab to see what they are selling.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

How To Spy on Competitor Listings To See Their Best Selling Products
01:37

 Key Takeaways: 

  • With the Viral Launch Brand Tool, you can find other successful companies,  to see what works for them & innovate in their niche.

  • Narrow down your market into specific categories, preferably less than $60

  • Find a category you want to innovate in.

  • Once you find a product, look if they have low reviews, but high sales over time. This is usually a good indicator of a market you can get in.

  • You want to find a brand that has sales distributed among various products because it shows that those products are in high demand.

Action Steps:

  1. Narrow down a niche with filters.

  2. Find a big company that launches frequently.

  3. See if that Company has a trademarked name. 

  4. Check out the market and see where you can innovate within a niche. 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Find Successful Brands with Viral Launch Brand Tool
31:57

Key Takeaways: 

  • Using Amazon's native tools can be a powerful way of finding profitable products on Amazon.

  • This can be a great way to gather product ideas and learn about specific categories. 

Action Steps:

  1. Narrow your scope to a sub-niche in 'Best Sellers'.

  2. Validate revenue and search demand.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Dig into Niches With Amazon Categories: Best Sellers & Most Wished for
03:39

Key Takeaways:

  • Using JungleSearch, you can sort the entire Amazon catalog FREE.

  • I show you how to optimize your product searches to see what the best sellers are launching every day.

Action Steps:

  1. Go to JungleSearch.com

  2. Set the criteria as described in the video.

  3. Find products and further validate.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

See What Advanced Sellers Are Launching TODAY For Free
04:09

Key Takeaways:

  • You can use Google Advanced Search to spy on competitors failures.

  • This method allows you to take their negative reviews and use it to your advantage.

Action Steps:

  1. Go to Google, Settings, Advanced Search

  2. Follow criteria in the video

  3. Take product ASIN and look it up on CamelCamelCamel

  4. Extract reviews and learn from it.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

How To Get A List Of Your Competitors Failures and Learn From Them
05:29
+ Finding Product Ideas - Creative Research Techniques
10 lectures 01:09:25

Key Takeaways: 

  • Product research tools are great and recommend.

  • There are also many FREE search methods that assist you in finding profitable products.

Action Steps:

  1. Learn all the FREE alternative methods in this section.

  2. You can use platforms such as:

    • Pinterest

    • Etsy

    • Facebook Ads & more.

  3. Get ahead of trends and you'll be far more successful in selling. 

Overview of Alternative Free Search Methods
02:16

Key Takeaways: 

  • Looking at other marketplaces and physical stores, you'll find different niche products. 

  • Using online platforms to research can allow you to add different products to your Amazon store.

Action Steps:

  • Search niches on Esty, eBay, and Groupon. 

  • Go to physical stores and figure out how you can add value to a product. 

Etsy & Other Marketplaces
02:06

Key Takeaways: 

  • Google Trends allows you to find product ideas that you won't find anywhere else. 

  • I show an example of how to utilize this tool to its full potential. 

Action Steps:

  1. Enter a common material into Google Trend

  2. To find something seasonal or recent, sort by the last 7 days

  3. Find a search term and check Amazon sales

  4. If you don't find what you are looking for, play around with different time frames. 

Google Trends
05:59

Key Takeaways: 

  • Pinterest is a great way to discover trends before they 'pop.'

  • Pinterest allows you to visually see a market. 

Action Steps:

  • Click around find interesting keywords to search on Pinterest

  • Find unique items that people are selling in their Shopify stores.

  • Use a Shopify URL hack to see their best selling products.

  • Validate the market by using a keyword tool like Cerebro and Magnet from Helium 10

  • Serve the trending market but keep in mind, that it might not be sustainable. 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Pinterest Visual Research + Shopify Unicorn Toilet Paper
20:28

Key Takeaways: 

  • With the visual power of Pinterest, you can find different products to sell in your niche.

  • In this video, I show you in real-time, my thought process of what makes an underserved market.

  • This research method reverse engineers the process of finding profitable products on Amazon. 

Action Steps:

  • Search keywords with purchase intent.

  • Find a Shopify store and see if their best selling products with the Shopify URL hack. 

  • Check the search demand on Amazon.

  • Find a profitable product and do a reverse ASIN search to gather important keywords. 

  • Analyze the trend and determine whether it's a dying or growing industry.  

Pinterest - Wedding
12:30

Key Takeaways: 

  • Kickstarter allows you to find product ideas before they hit the market. 

  • When there is a megatrend in a market, physical products are built around that culture.

  • Although you might not see the search volume on Amazon yet, you can validate if it's a good idea. 

Action Steps:

  1. Sort by successful projects and most funded, to see where the money is.

  2. Validate if there is search demand on Amazon.

  3. If there is, see if you can private label the product.

  4. If there isn't, wait and see if another product within that megatrend is invented and built upon.

Kickstarter
11:27

Key Takeaways:

  • Paying attention to new laws and regulations is a great way to find niche markets that may be underserved.

  • A few years ago, I bought a bag that was specialized for Spirit Airlines. The bag sizes for Spirit are always super strict and I spent a really long time looking for a bag that fits my style.

  • This is an example of an under-served niche market that has to follow a certain regulation.

  • As for new laws, the marijuana industry is growing exponentially and new markets are forming based on what laws pass and which don't.

Action Steps:

  1. If you already follow the news, think of how you can create a brand or product around a new law or regulation.

  2. Think about your own pain points for regulations you ha

New Laws & Regulations
03:37
Native Amazon Search Methods - Best Sellers, Movers and Shakers, Most Wished For
03:39

Key Takeaways:

  • Organizing your product research is important for workflow.

  • I show how to organize and collect research using Pinterest.

Action Steps:

  1. Get Pinterest

  2. Go on Amazon

  3. Pin products to your desired board.

Organize FBA Product Research with Pinterest Boards
01:52

Key Takeaways:

  • Another unconventional way of finding other product opportunities you can ask for their product catalog.

  • Most suppliers don't want to put all their products on Alibaba because their competitors will copy them.

  • I've actually been to China three times and I had the opportunity to speak to hundreds of suppliers so I learned 

Action Steps:

  • Ask your supplier for their product catalog.

  • If you have the opportunity, go to the Canton Fair, Global Sources, or Yiwu. The feedback loop will be much faster.

  • If you'd like to hear more about my experience at the Canton Fair, watch this

Relationships with Suppliers & Chinese Trade Shows
05:31
+ Pitfalls
17 lectures 01:59:56

Key Takeaways:

  • You must invent something that has a search volume

  • Avoid trying to compete for brand if you're a new seller

  • You can't find something that looks identical to another listing and sell on that

  • Avoid highly competitive products

  • Source a highly quality product

Action Steps:

  • Consider these tips to avoid pitfalls

  • Continue on through this section

Pitfalls Overview
04:29

Key Takeaways: 

  • The most important part of Amazon FBA is your product selection.

  • Before I started on Amazon, I had no idea how to validate search demand from customers. 

  • Amazon is a platform to capture demand, not generate it

Action Steps:

  1. Ask yourself, why would someone buy my products over the others?

  2. Find a way to differentiate yourself from your competitors. 

  3. Don't make an innovative invention that doesn't exist on Amazon.

My Product Research Failures
16:40

Key Takeaways: 

  • Casey has seen over 30,000 product launches on Amazon.

  • Product research is the most important part of Amazon FBA.

  • Most product research failures start in highly competitive markets.

Action Steps:

  1. Analyze the whole market. Just because one ASIN is doing well, doesn't mean it equals the entire market.

  2. Pay attention to how you can achieve success.

  3. Don't source the exact same product because someone else had success. 

  4. People must be able to find your product through a keyword search. 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

[VL Interview] Common Product Research Failures
15:22

Key Takeaways:

  • Hijackers are sellers who can sell on our listings for various reasons. 

  • To completely protect yourself from hijackers, you need to file a trademark.

  • How I bought all my hijackers products and reported them to Amazon (with proof).

  • My experience with Amazon's legal team and fighting off hijackers while in the hospital. 

Action Steps:

  1.  Buy your own products and report hijackers through Amazon.

  2. Fight for the buy box by adjusting the price. 

What is Hijacking?
05:49

Key Takeaways:

  • The importance of sales distributions on product listings

  • When using sales estimation tools, variation sales always skew the sales.

  • You can estimate sales by checking the number of reviews per variation.

  • In theory, if each variation is doing the same amount of sales volume, then they'd all have roughly the same amount of reviews. 

Action Steps:

  1. Run the Helium 10 chrome extension and see if sales are skewed.

  2. Download the product reviews from Helium 10.

  3. Export the reviews as an excel file. 

  4. Sort the product reviews by variation (color, size, etc.)

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

WATCH OUT: Variation Listings Sales Estimates are Tricky
07:43

Key Takeaways: 

  • Brand affiliation is powerful because customers are loyal to a brand. 

  • If sales aren't evenly distributed in a market, the market could be dominated by a specific brand. 

Action Steps:

  1. Check if there is brand affiliation in a market. Are one or two brands dominating the nitch?  

  2. Run the Viral Launch chrome extension and analyze the sales data and reviews. 

  3. Figure out if people are buying the product because of brand loyalty or the quality of the product. 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Analyzing a Market - Sales Distribution & Brand Affiliation
08:02

Key Takeaways: 

  • Selling restricted products can get you banned.

  • To sell restricted products you NEED the proper certifications. 

  • There are products Amazon will NEVER allow you to sell.

  • Young listings, with low reviews, are often restricted, make sure to verify. 

Action Steps:

  1. Navigate to the "Restricted Products" page on Amazon.

  2. Read through all restricted products so you know what to avoid.

  3. When you find a home-run product, always check if its restricted. 

  4. If unsure about restrictions, contact Amazon with an example listing and verify permission. 

Branded, Restricted and Gated Products
17:39

Key Takeaways: 

  • Trademarks are words, phrases or images that a company owns the right to.

  • When a market is wide open, with a few competitors, it's probably patented. 

  • When one company/brand is taking all the sales, while other listings are young, in most cases the product is probably patented. 

  • Patent-pending can also be a liability, allowing a company to sue you once their patent is issued. 

Action Steps:

  1. Look up trademarks on Trademarkia.com

  2. To check a patent, enter search terms on Google Patents.

  3. Look at the photos and research the patents as best you can

  4. If you're still unsure, speak to a patent attorney. 

Patents, Trademarks & Copyright
17:22

Key Takeaways: 

  • Amazon is based on KEYWORDS only. 

  • Customers come to Amazon ready to BUY not research. 

  • It is essential for you to invent within the KEYWORDS or demand.

Action Steps:

  1. Invent within keywords customers are actually searching for. 

  2. Solve the problem customers are searching for.

  3. Match the right keywords to your solution for them. 

Beware of Inventing a Product
06:55

Key Takeaways: 

  • Amazon has a variety of private label brands like Amazon Basics.

  • Amazon's employees have no incentive to optimize their listings.

  • Amazon selling in a market is a good indicator. This could mean there is high sales volume for that market. 

Action Steps:

  1. Compete against Amazon if you can add value and differentiate. 

  2. Stay away from markets like batteries where Amazon is dominating and also has little room for differentiation. 

Are You Afraid to Compete Against Amazon?
03:16

Key Takeaways:

  • Check products that have inherent liability

  • Typically avoid electronic items, baby products, and products that go inside people

  • Check if that product needs certification

  • If you follow through with a product that needs certification, it becomes your competitive advantage

Action Steps:

  • Take into account products that have liabilities and need certification

Liability and Certifications
02:05

Key Takeaway:

  • Sales estimators are generally accurate but there are a few pitfalls you may run into as you analyze a market in depth.

  • For example, high price and low sales tend to be inflated. So it's important to validate search demand.

  • For products that are at the top of their category, sales per day tend to be higher than the sales estimator. When I was selling 3,000 solar eclipse glasses per day, sales estimators said I was selling 100-300 per day.

  • Variations can be deceiving as well. A sales estimator might tell you that each variation is doing the same amount of sales.

Action Steps: 

  • Watch How To Validate Search Demand to avoid these pitfalls.

  • Watch my video about variations

Incorrect Sales Estimate from Product Research Tools
05:27

Key Takeaways:

  • The biggest pitfall is having a low quality product.

  • Having a high quality product means you can compete because you will get reviews, people will suggest it, and you will build a brand.

Action Steps:

  • Research suppliers who can help you source a good product

  • Make sure you can deliver a high quality product

The Need for a Superior Product
00:58

Key Takeaways:

  • When you're researching products who have a ton of sales and just barely launched, be wary.

  • You want to look at products who have sales data with at least a few months.

  • Products with high sales are most likely spending a lot of money on marketing like running outside traffic, promotional ads, etc.

Action Steps:

  • Avoid factoring in products with high sales volume, but little to no sales history

  • Look at smaller markets where you can differentiate

Misguided by Wrong Examples of "Success"
02:38

Key Takeaways:

  • You need to have money if you want to sell on Amazon

  • If you want to be on the first page, you have to have as many units as the top seller to compete

  • Biggest pitfalls are you don't differentiate and don't have the money

Action Steps:

  • Do the math and get as short of a lead time as you can when finding a supplier

Not Enough Resources to Compete
03:52

Key Takeaways:

  • Pay attention to the FBA fees like the dimension of your product

  • Little changes can alter the size and weight of your product which can cost a bit more affecting your profit

  • Make sure to calculate your shipping and storage costs

Action Steps:

  • Be mindful of all the potential fees for your product

Not Taking into Account all Applicable Fees
00:39

Key Takeaways:

  • When finding a product to sell, invent within what the market wants, not what you want.

  • On Amazon, it's important to serve the market because we are capturing the demand within the keywords. 

Action Steps:

  • Look at the reviews and actually analyze the market you will be serving.

Inventing What You Want V.S. What The Market Wants
01:00
+ Validation
11 lectures 02:13:39

Key Takeaways:

  • When Validating demand for Privat Label products, using search volume and actual sales is not enough. Especially in up and coming markets.

  • Beating the “herd’ or potential competitors to a market is critical.

  • Use the tools mentioned in this video to validate ideas if you’re getting into something early.

Action Steps:

  1. Use Helium 10 to look-up keyword for the product. Is there a demand for the keyword?

  2. Search Amazon for the product.

  3. Use Google Adwords and Trends to gauge demand through search volume.

  4. Use eBay Sold Items to verify Proof of Sale.

  5. Use youtube, Ali express, and Pinterest for additional validation.

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

How to Validate Search Demand: Unicorn Toilet Paper
10:29

Key Takeaways: 

  • Amazon's rules are always changing and your listing could be suppressed or suspend.

  • When a listing is suppressed, it won't show up to any customers or search terms. 

  • When a listing is suspended, it is completely closed down and could destroy your business. 

Action Steps:

  1. Make sure you can sell in a given category - it could be gated.

  2. Ask yourself, if there is any certification or requirements need to make your product listing.

  3. Make your own website and a product listing on that site with a UPC code.

  4. Contact Amazon and show them your product on your website.

How To Ensure You NEVER Get SUSPENDED Or SUPPRESSED
08:44

Key Takeaways:

  • Another thing to take into account is the PPC cost of your product.

  • Once your product is up and ranking, you'll have a 20% conversion rate give or take which means you'll need about 5 clicks to make a sale.

  • Multiply the cost per click by 5 and you'll get a rough estimate of what PPC might cost for a given keyword.

  • Some markets are more expensive than others. Longtail and niche keywords are always cheaper.

Action Steps:

  1. To find the cost of 1 click for a given keyword, log into seller central and hover over the advertising tab and click campaign manager.

  2. Click create a campaign and click sponsored products.

  3. Add a product that is very similar to yours and click manual targeting

  4. Choose some suggested keywords. You can also enter your own keywords

  5. Multiply estimated sales on the first page by PPC cost times 5

    • Example:

      • Keyword: "Trump Squirrel Feeder"

      • Avg cost per click: $0.53

      • Conversion rate: 20%

      • Number of sales per month: 200

      • PPC cost to make a sale: .53 * 5 = $2.65

      • Total monthly PPC cost for "Trump Squirrel Feeder": $2.65 * 200 = $530

How to find PPC price of a product
06:31

Key Takeaways: 

  • There two types of fees on Amazon: selling on Amazon fees and FBA fulfillment fees. 

  • Selling on Amazon fees apply to all sellers

  • Fulfillment fees apply to sellers in the FBA Program.

  • Fees are higher during Q4. 

  • FBA long-term storage fees could hurt your business the most. 

Action Steps:

  1. Sign up for the Pro Seller Plan ($40/month) to qualify for FBA. 

  2. Check your category's referral fee. Every category is different. 

  3. Check the monthly storage fee for standard sized and oversized items.

  4. Ask your manufacturer to adjust or shrinking the packing to fit your desired measurements. 

Validate Profitability - Fulfillment Fees Explained
22:30

Key Takeaways: 

  • The Amazon FBA calculator is a free tool Amazon that helps sellers determine their fee cost for FBA.

  • Amazon fees depend on the category but are usually 15% of sales price.

  • FBA fees depend mostly on the size and weight of products. 

  • The Viral Launch calculator in Market Intelligence is very useful when calculating fees quickly. 

How to Calculate Amazon FBA Fees
04:36

Key Takeaways:

  • Assume you make 150% ROI and have a 60 day lead time

  • To calculate your Cost per Acquisition, input Cost per Click divided by your Conversion Rate

  • To calculate Advertising per Unit, input Profit per Unit minus your CPA

  • When you run ads, over time your sales will stack up and Amazon will start to reward you with organic traffic

  • You need to make sure you do the math to see if you can compete.

Action Steps:

  • Use the Amazon FBA Calculator or Viral Launch Calculator

Do You Have The Money to Fund Your Idea?
11:47

Key Takeaways:

  • When you identify who your competitors are, you learn who they are serving in the market and who they aren't serving.

  • Knowing exactly who your competitors are will allow you to serve the best niches most efficiently.

  • I make an avatar for each competitor and my customers. 

Action Steps:

  1. Create a mental avatar of your competitors and the customers you serve.

  2. Create a mental image of what they might look like, how they might act, who they are. 

  3. Buy their product

Try to Make an Avatar For Your Competitors
05:17

Key Takeaways:

  • For people very serious about investing in a product, I highly recommend you follow these steps to further understand the niche and product. 

  • These are the techniques I use to study my competitors.  

Action Steps:

  1. Check competitors product catalog - how versatile are they? 

  2. Analyze your competitor's products photos - are the photos professional?

  3. Figure out if your competitor's social media and website - are they an established brand? 

Note:

  • Viral Launch and Helium 10 have the most accurate historical data.

  • Brock begins the tutorials with Viral Launch because the interface is user friendly. Their Product Discovery is currently supported in the following countries: United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Mexico, Spain, France, Italy. Viral Launch's Keyword Research data is only available for the US market.

  • FOR INTERNATIONAL SELLERS: For Keyword Research on Canada, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, UK, India and the US, use Helium 10.

Analyze How Advanced Your Competitors Are
32:20

Key Takeaways:

  • Consider where the market is going

  • Calculate what is the best case scenario & worst case scenario

  • Make sure there's no trademarks or patents and it's not a gated or restricted product

  • You must be able to differentiate and have the resources to compete

  • Will the product have evenly distributed sales and will it be profitable?

  • Must be able to validate the sales

  • Is it a seasonal product or a fad?

Action Steps:

  • Collect your list of product ideas

  • Run them through this list

How to Decide if You Should Go Forward with Sourcing A Product
10:39

Key Takeaways:

  • Should you start a brand or just launch a bunch of products? The truth is, it doesn't matter yet.

  • The most important part is starting.

  • When I first started my entrepreneurial journey, I found products that made me money and I didn't take on this giant vision on day 1.

  • However, at a certain point, you are going to have to pivot from a bunch of products to a brand to truly scale.

Action Steps:

  1. Assess your skills and risk tolerance.

    • If you're a beginner, you don't have to find your passion project immediately. Find small wins and build up your experience.

  2. Take action and add value to a market.

  3. When you have the skills and capital, pivot to a brand.

Product V.S. Brand to Start Out: When to Pivot
03:17

Key Takeaways:

  • A product life cycle is relevant across every market and is an important business fundamental you should understand.

  • Understanding a given products life cycle will allow you to anticipate where the marketing is going and as a result what your competitors will be up to.

  • If you can get into the introduction phase of a product cycle, you have a chance at building a profitable long-term brand.

Action Steps:

  1. Learn how the product cycle works

  2. Understand fads vs trends

  3. Exploit the product cycle and make money

How a Product Life Cycle Effects Your Decision
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